Just another WordPress.com site

Oh Lord, won’t you buy me a Mercedes Benz?

This picture is from outside a church (wich is inside Royal Court Hotel). Sometimes we go to church on sundays. I’ve been visiting some different pentecoastal churches and they have a very different way of doing things than in my lutheran church at home… My favorite-church so far is located inside a hotel. They have really catchy worship-songs with a nice band playing. The mood gets really great. They speak in tounges wich is really strange. The pastor is preaching like he is really burning for the message he is trying to deliver us. He is screaming! “Hallelujah! Can I get an amen from someone? AMEN!”

But I have noticed that they focus on material things. Being successfull, rich, praying for a nice house, a nice car. In Uganda I went to a really big church and I saw people giving testimonies. A lady had been praying to God and the prophet of the church to get a big fence around her house. Now she had gotten it and she thanked the man of God (the prophet) because it was like a small miracle to her. To get a fence. I guess I find this a bit strange because from where I come from most people are really wealthy and we have everything we need. Therefore, I think many people also think that they don’t need God, they don’t care about God, Jesus or faith… But here you find so many people that has almost nothing. So you pray for money, you pray for a car, you pray for fence around your house. You pray for a borehole….

And people are so proud of their religion in this country! On the cars, matatus, tuktuks and motorbikes you see writings like: “God is able” or “Jesus lives” or verses from the bible in really big colorful letters. And then the muslims have their big fancy writings about how good Allah is, or why Muhammed is the best. In Norway you would be crazy to do that. You’re not supposed to show off what you believe in like that. But I think It’s really cool!

Leave a comment